# Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Special) SUPPLEMENTAL AGENDA

DATE: Thursday 12 May 2011

#### **AGENDA - PART I**

### 4. ESTABLISHMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES FOR 2011/12 (Pages 1 - 2)

To consider the establishment of and appointment of Members to the Sub-Committees of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2011/12, including the appointment of Chairmen under Committee Procedure Rule 7.2.

[NOTE 1: Members are asked to note that subsidiary body memberships must be determined in accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and regulations made thereunder.

Therefore, whilst the Committee has to confirm the membership of its Sub-Committees to comply with the Local Government Act 1972, the actual nominations of named Councillors are decided by each group, from within the membership of that group.

It is not open to the Committee to seek to change or to delay the nominations duly made by a group. It is only if there is a failure to make a nomination or to act in due time that the Committee may seek to consider the matter further].

#### 5. APPOINTMENT OF LEAD MEMBERS 2011/12 (Pages 3 - 4)

To appoint the Policy and Performance Lead Members for Scrutiny for the Municipal Year 2011/12.





#### **SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEES - 2011/12**

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

Labour Conservative (1) PERFORMANCE AND FINANCE SCRUTINY SUB-COMMITTEE (5) (3) (2)I. **Tony Ferrari** Sue Anderson (CH) **Members Jerry Miles Barry Macleod-Cullinane** \* Varsha Parmar 11. 1. Nana Asante 1. Chris Mote Reserve 2. Krishna Suresh 2. Susan Hall Members 3. Krishna James (2) HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SUB-COMMITTEE (5) (3) (2)Mrs Vina Mithani \* I. Ann Gate (CH) **Members** Jerry Miles **Simon Williams** Sachin Shah II. 1. Ben Wealthy 1. Barry Macleod-Cullinane 2. David Gawn 2. Mrs Lurline Champagnie OBE Reserve Members 3. Krishna James CH = Chair = Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters

## (3) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5)

	Labour	Conservative
	(3)	(2)
l. Members	Sue Anderson Jerry Miles (CH) Sachin Shah	Susan Hall Paul Osborn *
II. Reserve Members	<ol> <li>Nana Asante</li> <li>Ann Gate</li> <li>Ajay Maru</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Barry Macleod- Cullinane</li> <li>Tony Ferrari</li> <li>Kam Chana</li> </ol>
	(4) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (Education) (9)	
	(7)	(2)
I. Members	Sue Anderson Nana Asante Ann Gate Ajay Maru Jerry Miles (CH) Sachin Shah Victoria Silver	Husain Akhtar Christine Bednell
II. Reserve Members	<ol> <li>Zarina Khalid</li> <li>Raj Ray</li> <li>Krishna Suresh</li> <li>Ben Wealthy</li> <li>Krishna James</li> <li>Nizam Ismail</li> <li>Kairul Kareema Marikar</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Chris Mote</li> <li>Janet Mote</li> <li>Lynda Seymour</li> <li>Ramji Chauhan</li> <li>Mrs Camilla Bath</li> </ol>
	Voting Co-opted Members:  (1) Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector - Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Reece  (2) Two representatives of Parent Governors - Vacancy (Primary) / Vacancy (Secondary)	
CH *	<ul><li>Chair</li><li>Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters</li></ul>	
†	[Note: The appointed number of Reserves for each Group is in excess of the Committee Procedure Rule 3.2 provision, by virtue of Resolution 17: Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18.7.06).]	

## **SCRUTINY LEAD MEMBERS 2011/12**

Policy Lead Member	Councillor
Health and Social Care	Councillor Ann Gate
Children and Young People	Councillor Christine Bednell
Corporate Effectiveness and Finance	Councillor Jerry Miles
Safer and Stronger Communities	Councillor Chris Mote
Sustainability Development and Enterprise	Councillor Stephen Wright

Performance Lead Member	Councillor
Health and Social Care	Councillor Mrs Vina Mithani
Children and Young People	Councillor Krishna James
Corporate Effectiveness and Finance	Councillor Tony Ferrari
Safer and Stronger Communities	Councillor Nana Asante
Sustainable Development and Enterprise	Councillor Sue Anderson

This page is intentionally left blank